GMRS setup guides Best GMRS handheld radios
Best GMRS handheld radios Including HTs under $50
Under $50, the Radioddity GM-30 has the strongest filing for the money: 4.91 W ERP for $24.99, with a removable SMA antenna and USB-C. The BTECH GMRS-V2 ($44.89) is the only budget HT here with a weather rating (IP54). Check one popular radio carefully: the GMRS version of the TIDRADIO TD-H3 is filed at 1.4 W ERP, not the 5 W in TIDRADIO's listing. For a radio that survives a dunk, the Retevis Ailunce HA1G is the least expensive IP67 HT here at $99.00.
Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through some links on this page, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you (currently BTECH only). Commissions never change our data, our picks or the order we list radios in. How we make money
How these picks work: we compared every GMRS handheld in our database on what its FCC grant and maker page document: filed power, antenna, battery, water rating, programming and price. Every value links to its source on the radio's spec page. We haven't done hands-on testing of these radios, so we don't rank them on audio, range or build quality.
What r/gmrs asks about HTs
“Which handheld should I buy?” is the most common question on r/gmrs (Need help picking a Handheld radio, GMRS Radio recommendations). It often comes with a range goal an HT can’t meet alone (best handheld… 10+ miles) or a request to avoid Baofeng. A community post that pulled the FCC filings for five popular HTs found them all within half a watt of each other (thread). Our wider set agrees for most radios, with a few notable exceptions below.
Every pick here is a Part 95 certified (type-accepted) GMRS radio: each has an FCC ID with a 95E grant. HTs may use all 30 GMRS channels. On the 467 MHz interstitials (8–14), ERP is capped at 0.5 W (§95.1767).
The picks
Best under $50: Radioddity GM-30
Why: it has the highest filed power per dollar in our database.
- 4.91 W ERP (462 main) and 4.9 W (467 repeater inputs) on 2AN62-GM30.
- Removable antenna (Radioddity: “GM-30 uses SMA-M antenna”), USB-C charging, CHIRP and PC programming, 250 channels and NOAA receive.
- 7.4 V 1500 mAh battery. That’s the smallest stated capacity in this group, and Radioddity lists no IP rating.
- $24.99 on Radioddity’s site (2026-10-21).
Where to buy · Radioddity GM-30: $24.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.
Best budget HT with a weather rating: BTECH GMRS-V2
Why: at $44.89 it’s the only HT under $50 here with a published water rating (IP54). It’s filed at 4.6 W ERP (462 main), has a removable antenna (BTECH: “SMA-Female antenna connector”), charges from “all USB-C cables” (BTECH), takes CHIRP, stores 200 channels and receives NOAA. BTECH doesn’t state the battery capacity.
Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-V2
$44.89 maker list price at BTECH
We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money
Biggest battery under $35: Baofeng UV-5G Plus
Why: a 2500 mAh pack, USB-C, a removable antenna (SMA-Female, 2.0 dBi stock) and 999 channels for $32.99. Baofeng’s page now calls it an “8W” radio. Its grant, 2AJGM-5GPLUS, lists 4.159 W ERP, and we found no filing for 8 W. Buy it for the battery and price, not the wattage.
Where to buy · Baofeng UV-5G Plus: $32.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.
Read the label first: TIDRADIO TD-H3 and TD-H8
The TD-H3 is the radio r/gmrs mentions most in our sample. TIDRADIO sells it under one name in ham, GMRS and unlocked versions, and the filings differ:
- TD-H3 (GMRS version), 2A4FBTD831G: filed at 1.4 W ERP (462 main). The filed test report rates it 1.5 W / 0.5 W with an “Inseparable Antenna.” TIDRADIO’s TD-H3 listing says 5 W, and its 2-pack listing prints the ham ID 2A4FBTD831, whose grant has no GMRS transmit rows. On GMRS, the certified TD-H3 is a roughly 1.5 W radio, about 5 dB below the rest of this list. Spec page.
- TD-H8 (GMRS version), 2AWL3-TDH8GMRS: filed at 4.864 W ERP, in line with the others. TIDRADIO’s current 4th Gen listing says 10 W and offers “Ham, GMRS, and Normal (Unlocked)” modes. The grant is from January 2023. Spec page.
Only a unit whose label shows the GMRS FCC ID is certified for GMRS. An “unlocked” unit that also transmits on ham bands isn’t (§95.1761(c)).
Highest filed power: Wouxun KG-UV9G Pro
Filed at 5.47 W ERP (462 main) and 5.35 W (467 main) on WVTWOUXUN19, the highest handheld figures in our database. Wouxun lists 999 channels, a 3200 mAh pack, IP55, AM air-band and broadcast-FM receive, and 5.5 / 5 / 0.5 W power levels. Wouxun’s page doesn’t mention NOAA weather or USB-C, and we haven’t verified a list price.
Where to buy · Wouxun KG-UV9G Pro: No retailer link yet.
Most channels and IP66: Wouxun KG-935G Plus
999 channels, IP66, a 2600 mAh pack with a USB-C port, and 5 W ERP filed (462 main). Wouxun lists 5.5 / 2 / 0.5 W power levels. We haven’t verified a list price.
Where to buy · Wouxun KG-935G Plus: No retailer link yet.
Waterproof (IP67) HTs
If the radio will get dunked, the least expensive documented IP67 option is the Retevis Ailunce HA1G at $99.00 (sale price on Retevis’s site). It has a 2800 mAh battery, USB-C, a removable SMA antenna and 256 channels. Its grant (2A3OOHA1G) lists 4 W rated output, not ERP, so it isn’t directly comparable to the other HTs’ figures, and it’s below the listing’s 5 W.
Where to buy · Retevis Ailunce HA1G: $99.00 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.
The other documented IP67 options are the Rocky Talkie Expedition ($195; replaceable battery, removable SMA antenna), Midland GXT67 PRO ($219.99; internal battery) and BTECH GMRS-PRO ($154.89; texting and GPS location sharing, so the rules require a fixed antenna). Our hiking guide compares them on weight and battery.
Also documented: Baofeng GM-15 Pro
$25.99 with USB-C, a removable SMA antenna and a 1500 mAh battery. Baofeng lists 5 W, but its grant (2AJGM-GM15PRO) shows 1.109 W ERP on the 462 MHz main channels, about 6 dB below the GM-30 at a similar price.
Also documented: Baofeng UV-5G (UV-5X)
$43.99, filed at 4.1 W ERP on 2AN62-UV5G, with an 1800 mAh battery and 30 GMRS channels. Baofeng says it fits UV-5R accessories. At this price, the GM-30, GMRS-V2 and UV-5G Plus document more. See UV-5R vs UV-5G vs GMRS-V2.
Every HT side by side
| Radio | FCC-filed power, 462 MHz main | Maker power | Water rating | Battery / power | Charging | Antenna | List price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Midland GXT67 PRO FCC MMAGXT67 | 4.875 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5 W Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21 | IP67 Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21 | 7.4 V 2500 mAh Li-ion, internal (not user-replaceable) Midland GXT67 owner's manual (dated 9-6-24)checked 2026-10-21 | USB-C / desktop charger / DC vehicle adapter Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | $219.99 (maker site) Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (5 Watt) FCC 2ATSN-RT5WV1 | 4.487 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | IP67 (1 m submersion) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Rechargeable Li-ion 7.4 V 1800 mAh (replaceable) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Removable, SMA-male; 7.5 cm and 17 cm included sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $195 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Wouxun KG-935G Plus FCC WVTWOUXUN26 | 5 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5.5 W / 2 W / 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | IP66 sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Li-ion 2600 mAh, USB-C charging port sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (on battery pack) / charger sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | ANO-039 antenna included (connector type not stated) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified |
| BTECH GMRS-PRO FCC 2AGND-GMRS-PRO | 4.624 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | IP67 sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | BP-26 2600 mAh listed as compatible battery; 7.4 V operating voltage sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C port on the rechargeable battery sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Not stated by BTECH. 47 CFR 95.1787(a)(4) requires a non-removable antenna on GMRS handhelds that send digital data, and BTECH lists texting and GPS location sharing sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $154.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link |
| BTECH GMRS-V2 FCC 2AGND-GMRS-V2 | 4.6 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5 W high / 0.5 W low; channels 8–14 low power only sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | IP54 sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | 7.4 V BL-8 Li-ion pack (capacity not stated on the product page) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (maker: "all USB-C cables"), plus included desktop charger; full charge in 3–4 hours sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Removable; SMA-Female antenna connector (maker's wording); K1 2-pin accessory jack sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $44.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link |
| TIDRADIO TD-H3 (GMRS version) FCC 2A4FBTD831G | 1.4 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5 W (TIDRADIO TD-H3 listing, which covers the Ham/Unlocked radio) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | 2500 mAh rechargeable (maker listing); the GMRS test report lists 7.4 V 2600 mAh sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (Type-C) charging and programming; optional desktop charger sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | GMRS test report: "Inseparable Antenna", 2.15 dBi gain sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $29.99 (maker site, Ham/Unlocked listing) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Baofeng UV-5G Plus FCC 2AJGM-5GPLUS | 4.159 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | "RF Output Power: ≤8W (GMRS)"; the listing title says 8W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | 2500 mAh Li-ion, 7.4 V sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (Type-C) port sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Removable; SMA-Female connector; stock antenna 2.0 dBi sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $32.99 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Baofeng UV-5G (UV-5X) FCC 2AN62-UV5G | 4.1 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | "RF Output Power ≤5W (GMRS)" sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | 1800 mAh Li-ion, 7.4 V; fits UV-5R-series accessories including a 3800 mAh battery (maker) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | not yet verified | $43.99 (maker site, US only) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Radioddity GM-30 FCC 2AN62-GM30 | 4.91 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5 W / 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | 7.4 V 1500 mAh Li-ion sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (Type-C) cable and USB charger included sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Removable; maker: "GM-30 uses SMA-M antenna" sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $24.99 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| TIDRADIO TD-H8 (GMRS version) FCC 2AWL3-TDH8GMRS | 4.864 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | "10W High Power" (4th Gen TD-H8 listing) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | 2500 mAh sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C charging cable and charger included sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | External antenna, 2.5 dBi (filed test report) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $59.99 (maker site, GMRS variant, 1 pack) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Baofeng GM-15 Pro FCC 2AJGM-GM15PRO | 1.109 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | "Output Power: 0.5W / 5W" sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified | 1500 mAh, 7.4 V sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (Type-C) charging sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Removable; SMA-Female connector. The "Long Antenna Set" listing includes a 39 cm, 2.15 dBi antenna sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $25.99 (maker site, 1 pc) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Retevis Ailunce HA1G FCC 2A3OOHA1G | 4 W rated FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | "Powerful 5W Output" sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | IP67 ("immersion in 1 meter deep water for 30 minutes") sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | 2800 mAh rechargeable sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (Type-C) port plus USB charging base sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Removable; "standard SMA Male antenna" (maker FAQ) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $99.00 (Retevis site, sale price shown; regular $135.00) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Wouxun KG-UV9G Pro FCC WVTWOUXUN19 | 5.47 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21 | 5.5 W / 5 W / 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | IP55 sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | BLO-012 Li-ion pack, 3200 mAh; 7.4 V DC sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Desktop charger and power supply adaptor included; USB-C not stated sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | ANO-014 antenna included (connector type not stated) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified |
Before you buy
- Range comes from height. A better HT won’t fix a cab or a basement. Get the antenna up or use a repeater (GMRS range).
- Removable antenna? Needed if you want a longer whip or a mag-mount for the car (antenna guide).
- Programming: budget HTs are usually set up with CHIRP or the maker’s CPS. Repeater channels need the right input tone (privacy codes and repeater tones).
- License and ID: one $35 license covers your family (license). Say your call sign every 15 minutes and at the end.
Related: best GMRS mobile radios · how to choose a GMRS radio · BTECH GMRS-V2 vs GMRS-PRO · handheld antenna upgrades · program with CHIRP
Common questions
Does a 5 W GMRS handheld really put out 5 W?
The FCC grant tells you. Most HTs we track are filed at 4.1–5.5 W ERP on the 462 MHz main channels, which is close to their makers’ 5 W. Three listings stand out: the TIDRADIO TD-H3 GMRS grant shows 1.4 W ERP and the Baofeng GM-15 Pro grant 1.1 W ERP, both against 5 W listings, and the Baofeng UV-5G Plus page now says 8 W while its grant shows 4.159 W ERP.
Can I use a Baofeng UV-5R on GMRS?
Not legally. A radio that can transmit on ham bands can’t be certified for GMRS (§95.1761(c)). Baofeng’s GMRS models are the UV-5G and UV-5G Plus. See UV-5R vs UV-5G vs GMRS-V2.
Will a better HT get me 10+ miles across town?
Usually not on its own. Two HTs at head height on flat ground run into the radio horizon at about 6 miles, and buildings cut that well short. A repeater or a high base antenna is how most people get 10+ miles. See GMRS range.
Which GMRS HTs charge from USB-C?
Every HT in our database except the Baofeng UV-5G and Wouxun KG-UV9G Pro lists USB-C charging on the maker’s page; those two pages don’t say. BTECH’s GMRS-V2 page says it charges from “all USB-C cables.”