Independent and source-linked. Every value cites the FCC grant or maker. Some links earn us a commission; it never changes our data. Not hands-on tested. How we work

GMRS setup guides Best GMRS radios for hiking

Best GMRS radios for hiking and backpacking (2026), picked from spec sheets and FCC filings

On paper, the Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio is the best fit for the trail. It's the only handheld here whose documents show IP67 waterproofing, a swappable battery, a removable antenna and NOAA alerts together. If you want lighter and cheaper, look at the BTECH GMRS-V2. If you don't want a license, look at the Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio (FRS).

Last checked October 21, 2026

Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through some links on this page, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you (currently BTECH only). Commissions never change our data, our picks or the order we list radios in. How we make money

How these picks work: we compared the six handhelds in our database (five GMRS, one license-free FRS) on the specs below. Every value links to the maker's document or the FCC grant. If a maker doesn't publish something, it shows as "not yet verified" and counts against that radio here. That means missing documentation, not a flaw we found. We haven't field-tested these radios, so we don't rank them on range or feel. The picks were made before any retailer link existed, and every pick gets the same where-to-buy box.

What we judged, and why

  1. Weight. It’s carried every mile.
  2. Water rating. IP67 means the maker says the radio survives submersion to 1 m. IP54–IP56 means splashes and snow only (IP ratings explained).
  3. Battery you can swap. On a multi-day trip a spare pack matters more than any battery-life claim, and those claims vary even within one maker’s documents.
  4. Antenna. A removable antenna lets you fit a longer one. FRS radios must have a fixed antenna by rule (§95.587(b)(1)).
  5. NOAA weather. A weather band or alert is useful above treeline.
  6. License. Every GMRS radio needs an FCC license ($35, 10 years, covers family; how to get one). FRS doesn’t.

We don’t judge range. No document we can cite measures real-world range, and the five GMRS handhelds’ FCC-filed ERP on the main 462 MHz channels is close: 4.487 to 5 W, a spread of about 0.5 dB (see each spec page).

The picks

Best documented all-rounder: Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio

Why: it’s the only handheld in our database whose documents show all of these:

  • IP67 (1 m submersion);
  • a replaceable battery (1800 mAh);
  • a removable SMA antenna, with 7.5 cm and 17 cm versions included;
  • NOAA weather alert monitoring;
  • a published weight (9.1 oz);
  • a published operating range of 14 °F to 122 °F.

Trade-offs: $195 on Rocky Talkie’s site. Its battery-life claims disagree (“4–6 days” on the product page, “3+ days” in the manual).

Spec page · vs Midland GXT67 PRO · vs Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio

Where to buy · Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (5 Watt): $195 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.

Lightest and cheapest GMRS handheld: BTECH GMRS-V2

Why: BTECH lists 214 g, the lowest published weight among the GMRS handhelds (two of the five don’t publish one), and $44.89, the lowest list price. It also has a removable antenna, USB-C charging, a NOAA weather receiver and CHIRP programming.

Trade-offs: IP54 is a splash rating only. BTECH doesn’t state the battery capacity on the product page.

Spec page · vs GMRS-PRO

Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-V2

$44.89 maker list price at BTECH

In stock (BTECH product page), checked Oct 21, 2026. Prices change, so the retailer's page has the final price.

Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)

We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

For texting and location sharing: BTECH GMRS-PRO

Why: BTECH lists text messaging and GPS location sharing between radios. It’s also IP67, with NOAA alerts and a USB-C port on the battery. Weight is 270 g with the battery (spec sheet). BTECH’s product page says 11 oz.

Trade-offs: $154.89. GMRS handhelds that send data must have a non-removable antenna (§95.1787(a)(4)). BTECH doesn’t state a battery-life figure.

Spec page

Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-PRO

$154.89 maker list price at BTECH

In stock (BTECH product page), checked Oct 21, 2026. Prices change, so the retailer's page has the final price.

Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)

We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

Most channel memory: Wouxun KG-935G Plus

Why: Wouxun lists 999 channel memories, IP66, a 2600 mAh Li-ion pack with a USB-C port, weather alerts and 8 repeater channels. BetterSafeRadio is among the dealers that sell it.

Trade-offs: Wouxun doesn’t publish a weight or a list price on the pages we checked, and dealer figures aren’t maker sources, so both show as unknown. That’s why it isn’t our pick for weight-conscious hikers.

Spec page

Where to buy · Wouxun KG-935G Plus: No retailer link yet.

Also documented: Midland GXT67 PRO

Midland documents IP67, NOAA weather alert and a 2500 mAh battery. The battery is internal and Midland says it isn’t customer-replaceable. We haven’t found its weight or antenna type in Midland’s documents. $219.99. Spec page

Where to buy · Midland GXT67 PRO: $219.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.

No license: Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio (FRS)

Why: if nobody in your group wants a license, an FRS radio is legal without one (§95.305). Rocky Talkie lists:

  • 173 g (6.1 oz);
  • a replaceable 1550 mAh battery;
  • USB-C charging;
  • IP56;
  • $120.

Trade-offs:

  • Its FCC grant (2ATSN-RTMRV2) files 1.524 W ERP on the main 462 MHz channels, about a third of the Expedition’s 4.48 W.
  • The antenna is fixed.
  • There’s no repeater access and no NOAA weather listed.

It can talk to GMRS radios on the shared channels 1–22. Mountain Radio vs Expedition

Where to buy · Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio: $120 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.

All six, side by side

RadioWeightWater ratingBatteryBattery life (maker claim)ChargingAntennaNOAA weatherList price
Midland GXT67 PRO
GMRS, license required · FCC MMAGXT67
not yet verifiedIP67 Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-217.4 V 2500 mAh Li-ion, internal (not user-replaceable) Midland GXT67 owner's manual (dated 9-6-24)checked 2026-10-21Up to 4 days (product page); Midland FAQ/spec sheet says 16 hours Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21USB-C / desktop charger / DC vehicle adapter Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedNOAA Weather Alert Radio (maker feature list) Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21$219.99 (maker site) Midland GXT67 PRO product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (5 Watt)
GMRS, license required · FCC 2ATSN-RT5WV1
9.1 oz; radio body 10.3 × 6.2 × 3.4 cm sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP67 (1 m submersion) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Rechargeable Li-ion 7.4 V 1800 mAh (replaceable) sourcechecked 2026-10-214–6 days on a single charge (product page); the user manual says "3+ days" sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C sourcechecked 2026-10-21Removable, SMA-male; 7.5 cm and 17 cm included sourcechecked 2026-10-21NOAA weather channels and NOAA emergency alert monitoring sourcechecked 2026-10-21$195 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Wouxun KG-935G Plus
GMRS, license required · FCC WVTWOUXUN26
not yet verifiedIP66 sourcechecked 2026-10-21Li-ion 2600 mAh, USB-C charging port sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedUSB-C (on battery pack) / charger sourcechecked 2026-10-21ANO-039 antenna included (connector type not stated) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Built-in NOAA weather mode with weather alerts sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verified
BTECH GMRS-PRO
GMRS, license required · FCC 2AGND-GMRS-PRO
Radio body 150 g + battery 120 g (270 g total); 58 × 125 × 35 mm (spec sheet). BTECH's product page lists 11 oz sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP67 sourcechecked 2026-10-21BP-26 2600 mAh listed as compatible battery; 7.4 V operating voltage sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedUSB-C port on the rechargeable battery sourcechecked 2026-10-21Not stated by BTECH. 47 CFR 95.1787(a)(4) requires a non-removable antenna on GMRS handhelds that send digital data, and BTECH lists texting and GPS location sharing sourcechecked 2026-10-21NOAA alerts sourcechecked 2026-10-21$154.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link
BTECH GMRS-V2
GMRS, license required · FCC 2AGND-GMRS-V2
214 g; 58 × 110 × 32 mm (maker) sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP54 sourcechecked 2026-10-217.4 V BL-8 Li-ion pack (capacity not stated on the product page) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Up to 18 hours (maker claim) sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C (maker: "all USB-C cables"), plus included desktop charger; full charge in 3–4 hours sourcechecked 2026-10-21Removable; SMA-Female antenna connector (maker's wording); K1 2-pin accessory jack sourcechecked 2026-10-21NOAA weather receiver sourcechecked 2026-10-21$44.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link
Rocky Talkie Mountain Radio
FRS, no license · FCC 2ATSN-RTMRV2
6.1 oz / 173 g radio only; 224 g with leash (manual); 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.8 cm sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP56 (splashproof/snowproof, not submersible) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Rechargeable Li-ion 1550 mAh (replaceable) sourcechecked 2026-10-213–5 days (product page); the user manual says "4+ days" sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C (cable included) sourcechecked 2026-10-217.5 cm, non-removable (FRS rule 47 CFR 95.587(b)(1) requires an integral antenna) sourcechecked 2026-10-21None listed sourcechecked 2026-10-21$120 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21

Before you go

  • Program and test before the trailhead. Set every radio to the same channel and privacy code, then check that they connect, as Rocky Talkie’s Mountain Radio manual advises.
  • Range depends on terrain. Maker range claims are line-of-sight best cases. Rocky Talkie itself quotes 2–8 miles in mountains for the Expedition and 1–5 for the Mountain Radio.
  • A radio isn’t an SOS beacon. None of these is a satellite messenger or a personal locator beacon.

Related: How to choose a GMRS radio · GMRS antenna connectors and upgrades · Channel and power chart · All radios

Sources are linked in each cell and on each spec page, checked 2026-10-21.