Comparisons Radioddity GM-30 vs BTECH GMRS-V2
Radioddity GM-30 vs BTECH GMRS-V2 Budget handhelds from the FCC filings
Two of r/gmrs's most-recommended cheap HTs: $24.99 vs $44.89 on the makers' sites (2026-10-21). The GM-30 is filed at slightly higher ERP, most noticeably on channels 1–7, and costs about half as much. The GMRS-V2 adds an IP54 rating, a stated USB-C charging spec and dual PTT. The two take opposite SMA antennas, so check that before buying an upgrade.
Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through some links on this page, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you (currently BTECH only). Commissions never change our data, our picks or the order we list radios in. How we make money
Where to buy · Radioddity GM-30: $24.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.
Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-V2
$44.89 maker list price at BTECH
We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money
FCC ID records side by side
| Radioddity GM-30 | BTECH GMRS-V2 | |
|---|---|---|
| FCC ID | 2AN62-GM30 | 2AGND-GMRS-V2 |
| Grantee | SAIN3 LLC (grantee code 2AN62) | BTECH (BaoFeng Tech) (grantee code 2AGND) |
| Rule part | 15B | 95E |
| Grant date | 2021-04-19 | 2021-10-26 |
| Filed power, 462 MHz main | 4.91 W ERP grant | 4.6 W ERP grant |
| Filed power, 462 MHz interstitial | 4.89 W ERP grant | 3.64 W ERP grant |
| Filed power, 467 MHz main (repeater input) | 4.9 W ERP grant | 4.59 W ERP grant |
| Filed power, 467 MHz interstitial | 0.49 W ERP grant | 0.46 W ERP grant |
Maker specs side by side
| Radioddity GM-30 | BTECH GMRS-V2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Rated power | 5 W / 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | 5 W high / 0.5 W low; channels 8–14 low power only sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Power levels | High 5 W / Low 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | High 5 W / Low 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Channels | 30 default, 250 capacity; 50 CTCSS / 104 DCS; CHIRP and PC programming sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | 200 memory channels; receive 65–108, 136–174, 400–520 MHz; CHIRP programmable sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Repeater | Yes – 30 GMRS channels, repeater capable sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Yes – repeater compatible sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Water/dust rating | not yet verified | IP54 sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Battery | 7.4 V 1500 mAh Li-ion sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | 7.4 V BL-8 Li-ion pack (capacity not stated on the product page) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Battery life (maker claim) | not yet verified | Up to 18 hours (maker claim) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Charging | USB-C (Type-C) cable and USB charger included sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | USB-C (maker: "all USB-C cables"), plus included desktop charger; full charge in 3–4 hours sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Antenna | Removable; maker: "GM-30 uses SMA-M antenna" sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | Removable; SMA-Female antenna connector (maker's wording); K1 2-pin accessory jack sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| NOAA weather | NOAA weather scan and receive sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | NOAA weather receiver sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| SAME county filtering | not yet verified | not yet verified |
| Weight | not yet verified | 214 g; 58 × 110 × 32 mm (maker) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 |
| Warranty | 1 year 6 months when bought from radioddity.com; 1 year through other platforms sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | not yet verified |
| List price | $24.99 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21 | $44.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link |
Key differences
Filed power: the GM-30 is a little higher, mostly on channels 1–7. Both grants list ERP (measured with the radio’s own antenna), so they compare directly (2AN62-GM30, 2AGND-GMRS-V2):
- 462 MHz main channels: GM-30 4.91 W vs GMRS-V2 4.6 W (about 0.3 dB).
- 467 MHz repeater inputs: 4.9 W vs 4.59 W (about 0.3 dB).
- 462 MHz interstitials (FRS 1–7): 4.89 W vs 3.64 W (about 1.3 dB). This is the one gap worth knowing about.
- 467 MHz interstitials (FRS 8–14): 0.49 W vs 0.46 W. Both are just under the 0.5 W ERP handheld limit (§95.1767(c)).
The GM-30 sits at 98% of the limit on channels 1–14 (4.89 of 5 W, 0.49 of 0.5 W). A longer, higher-gain whip adds to what radiates, so on those channels a stock antenna is the safe choice. Use an upgraded whip on 15–22 and repeaters, where the limit isn’t set as ERP (handheld antenna upgrades). r/gmrs has a thread on measured power output of the GM-30; those are owner measurements, not the FCC figures above.
Antennas: opposite SMA types. BTECH lists an “SMA-Female antenna” for the GMRS-V2. Radioddity says the “GM-30 uses SMA-M antenna.” So the two radios have opposite jacks, and a whip for one won’t thread onto the other without an adapter. Both have removable antennas and a Kenwood-style 2-pin (K1) accessory jack, so speaker mics and programming cables are shared (connectors explained).
Water and dust. BTECH rates the GMRS-V2 IP54 (“weather-resistant / splash resistant”). Radioddity lists no IP rating for the GM-30.
Where the grants come from. The GMRS-V2 grant is BTECH’s own original filing (2021-10-26). The GM-30 grant (2021-04-19) is a change in identification of 2AJGM-P15UV, granted 2021-04-13 under grantee code 2AJGM, the code that also holds Baofeng’s UV-5G Plus and GM-15 Pro grants. The FCC figures above are the ones filed for the GM-30’s ID.
Emission codes. The GM-30 grant lists 16K0F3E on the main channels and channels 1–7, and 11K0F3E on 8–14. The GMRS-V2 lists 15K1F3E on the main channels, 11K4F3E on 1–7 and 8K48F3E on 8–14. Both use wideband FM on the main channels and repeaters.
RF exposure. Both grants say to hold the radio at least 25 mm from your face and set a 50% maximum duty factor. Highest reported SAR: GM-30 0.74 W/kg face-up and 1.29 W/kg body-worn; GMRS-V2 0.88 and 1.46 W/kg.
Features and programming.
| GM-30 | GMRS-V2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Memory | 30 default, 250 total; 24 custom repeater channels (CH 31–54) | 200 channels (000–199), any GMRS, NOAA or scanner frequency |
| Programming | Keypad, Radioddity CPS, CHIRP, RT Systems | Keypad (GCH-AD menu) or free CHIRP |
| Watch / PTT | Single or dual watch | Dual watch and dual PTT |
| Battery | 7.4 V 1500 mAh (spec list; Radioddity’s comparison chart says 1800 mAh) | 7.4 V BL-8 pack, capacity not stated on the product page |
| Charging | USB Type-C on the radio or the battery alone; USB-C cable and charger included | USB-C (“all USB-C cables”), plus a desktop charger; 3–4 hours |
| Receive (maker) | 65–108, 136–174, 400–470 MHz | 65–108, 136–174, 400–520 MHz |
| NOAA | 11 pre-programmed weather channels | NOAA scan and receive |
| Weight | Not listed (120 × 56 × 36 mm) | 214 g (58 × 110 × 32 mm) |
| Warranty | 1 year 6 months from radioddity.com; 1 year elsewhere | Not listed |
Sources: GM-30 page and GMRS-V2 page, checked 2026-10-21.
Range claims. Radioddity says the GM-30 “can go up to 5 Miles.” BTECH says “1–5+ miles” simplex for the GMRS-V2. The FCC doesn’t certify range, and the filed power difference is too small to change it much (GMRS range).
r/gmrs threads on these two: Radioddity GM-30 vs ???, Should I go ahead and get a GM-30 now or wait and Radioddity GM-30 Plus or Pro. The GM-30 Plus is a separate model that isn’t in our database yet.
Which one fits you
- Lowest cost, or a family set: the GM-30. At $24.99 it has the lowest list price of any handheld in our database, with the highest filed ERP on channels 1–7 of the two.
- Rain, dust or a stated weather rating: the GMRS-V2 (IP54). For full waterproofing, look at IP67 handhelds in best GMRS handheld radios.
- You plan to buy a Nagoya NA-771G or similar SMA-Female whip: the GMRS-V2, which BTECH sells it for.
- You run two channels at once (a repeater and a simplex channel): the GMRS-V2’s dual PTT.
- Comparing with Baofeng’s GMRS models: see UV-5R vs UV-5G vs GMRS-V2, or GMRS-V2 vs GMRS-PRO if you’re thinking of stepping up.
Licensing: both transmit on GMRS, so you need an FCC GMRS license (how to get one). Both grants list rule part 95E.
The GM-30's weight and IP rating, the GMRS-V2's battery capacity and warranty, and SAME support for both radios are not yet verified.
Common questions
Is the GM-30 more powerful than the GMRS-V2?
Slightly, on paper. Both grants list ERP. On the 462 MHz main channels the GM-30 is filed at 4.91 W and the GMRS-V2 at 4.6 W, about 0.3 dB apart, which you won’t hear. The real gap is on the 462 MHz interstitials (channels 1–7): 4.89 W vs 3.64 W, about 1.3 dB. Both are under the 5 W ERP limit (§95.1767(b)).
Will a Nagoya NA-771G fit both radios?
No. BTECH describes the GMRS-V2 as using an “SMA-Female antenna”, which is what the NA-771G is. Radioddity says the “GM-30 uses SMA-M antenna”, the opposite type. Look at the radio’s own connector: a center pin means it takes an SMA-Female antenna. See handheld antenna upgrades.
Can I program both with CHIRP?
Yes. BTECH lists free CHIRP software for the GMRS-V2 and Radioddity says the GM-30 “supports CHIRP programming.” Both also program from the keypad, and Radioddity offers its own CPS. Both use a Kenwood-style 2-pin (K1) jack for the cable. See program a GMRS radio with CHIRP.
Do both charge over USB-C?
Yes. BTECH says the GMRS-V2 charges from “all USB-C cables” and includes a desktop charger. Radioddity says the GM-30 has a USB Type-C port that can “charge the radio or just the battery alone,” and ships with a USB-C cable and USB charger. Radioddity doesn’t say whether a USB-C to USB-C cable or a PD charger works.