GMRS setup guides Best GMRS mobile radios

Best GMRS mobile radios For trucks, Jeeps and overlanding

For most trucks and Jeeps, the BTECH GMRS-50V2 is the best documented value. It's filed at 44.87 W ERP, rated IP54 and costs $219.89, about half the price of Midland's 50-watt MicroMobiles. For an open Jeep or a side-by-side, the BTECH GMRS-20V2 is the only mobile here rated IP67, costs $109.89 and runs from the included cigarette-plug cable, at 18.41 W ERP. If you want full power and weather sealing, the Midland MXT500 (IP66, $439.99) is the highest-rated 50 W radio here.

Last checked October 21, 2026

Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through some links on this page, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you (currently BTECH only). Commissions never change our data, our picks or the order we list radios in. How we make money

How these picks work: we compared the twelve GMRS mobiles in our database on what their FCC grants and maker pages document: filed power, weather rating, antenna jack, install requirements, channel memory and price. Every value links to its source on the radio's spec page. We haven't done hands-on testing of these radios, so we don't rank them on audio, range or build quality.

What r/gmrs asks before buying a mobile

The vehicle questions that come up most on r/gmrs are the ones the documents can answer: how much power you need, whether to wire to the battery, and which antenna mount to use (Vehicle radio recommendations, purchasing advice for off-roading, Advice sought: mobile units). The common advice in those threads is to get the antenna out of the metal box: an HT inside a cab loses much of its signal to the roof and doors. Any mobile with a roof antenna fixes that.

The rules allow mobiles up to 50 W transmitter output on the main channels and 5 W ERP on the 462 MHz interstitials (FRS 1–7) (§95.1767). Only handhelds may transmit on the 467 MHz interstitials (FRS/GMRS 8–14), and mobiles may use the 467 MHz main channels only through a repeater or for brief tests (§95.1763).

The picks

Best documented value: BTECH GMRS-50V2

Why: it’s the lowest-priced 40–50 W mobile here with a published weather rating, and it’s in stock.

  • Filed power: 44.87 W ERP on the 462 MHz main channels and 43.65 W on the 467 MHz repeater inputs (grant 2AGND50V2G).
  • IP54 (“weather-resistant / splash resistant”) and an SO-239 antenna jack, with no antenna included.
  • 256 channels, quad watch, NOAA receive, and an RJ45 mic jack with an RJ45-to-K1 adapter.
  • Install: 13.8 V with 20 A peak. BTECH says to wire it to the battery or a fuse block, “not a cigarette outlet.” The grant requires an antenna install at least 80 cm from people.
  • $219.89 on BTECH’s site, in stock (2026-10-21).

Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-50V2

$219.89 maker list price at BTECH

In stock (BTECH product page), checked Oct 21, 2026. Prices change, so the retailer's page has the final price.

Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)

We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

Best weatherproof budget pick: BTECH GMRS-20V2

Why: it’s the only mobile in our database rated IP67 (BTECH: “fully submersible protection for rain, mud, snow, dust, and outdoor mounting conditions”), and at $109.89 it’s tied with the Radioddity DB20-G ($109.99) as the least expensive current mobile here.

  • Filed power: 18.41 W ERP on the 462 MHz main channels, 4.93 W on the 462 MHz interstitials and 17.5 W on the 467 MHz repeater inputs (grant 2AGND20V2G).
  • No battery wiring needed: BTECH ships a 12 V cigarette-plug power cable, bracket and hardware. It lists 13.8 V with a 20 A peak.
  • 200 channels, tri-watch, NOAA receive and an SO-239 jack with no antenna included. BTECH says it programs with CHIRP and the PC04 cable, and CHIRP’s supported-radio list includes it.
  • Small: 4 × 1.5 × 4 in and 14.9 oz. The grant sets a 49 cm antenna distance.
  • Trade-off: about 18 W instead of 45–48 W. That’s roughly 4 dB less than the 50 W radios, which matters most on long simplex links. See GMRS range.

Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-20V2

$109.89 maker list price at BTECH

In stock (BTECH product page), checked Oct 21, 2026. Prices change, so the retailer's page has the final price.

Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)

We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

Best weatherproof 50 W pick: Midland MXT500

Why: it’s the highest-rated 50 W mobile in our database at IP66. The other current 50 W radios list IP54 or no rating. It’s filed at 47.863 W conducted on the 462 MHz main channels. It stores up to 128 channels with 154 privacy codes, has 8 repeater channels and a USB-C port for charging and data. It costs $439.99 on Midland’s site, twice the GMRS-50V2. Its grant requires the antenna to sit at least 151.8 cm from people, the largest distance here (MMAMXT500). Specs: MXT500 spec page, citing Midland’s product page.

Where to buy · Midland MXT500 MicroMobile: $439.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.

Phone programming and GPS: BTECH GMRS-50PRO

Why: BTECH says it programs from a phone app over Bluetooth, with CSV import and export. It also has built-in GPS with location sharing, a color control microphone and 180 channels in six banks of 30. The grant is at 35.4 W ERP on the 462 MHz main channels and 34.44 W on the 467 MHz inputs, the lowest of BTECH’s 50 W mobiles (2AGND-GMRS-50PRO). It’s rated IP54 (“not submersible”), weighs 2.5 lb and costs $284.89. Its grant gives a 40 cm antenna distance for antennas up to 1.0 dBi gain. It isn’t on CHIRP’s supported-radio list, and a BTECH buyer review says the same: “it is not programmable by CHIRP.”

Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-50PRO

$284.89 maker list price at BTECH

In stock (BTECH product page), checked Oct 21, 2026. Prices change, so the retailer's page has the final price.

Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)

We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

Most channels and a remote-mount panel: Wouxun KG-1000G Plus

Why: 999 channels, a remote-mountable front panel (Wouxun lists a remote front-panel bracket and extension cable as standard accessories), four power levels (50/25/10/5 W), a cooling fan and seven NOAA channels (Wouxun). Filed at 43.152 W ERP (462 main) and 45.29 W (467 main) on WVTWOUXUN20. The grant caps antenna gain, including cable loss, at 4.14 dBi and requires 40 cm separation. Wouxun doesn’t list a price on its own site, so we haven’t verified one.

Where to buy · Wouxun KG-1000G Plus: No retailer link yet.

Most channels in a plug-in mobile: Radioddity DB20-G

Why: 500 channels, and it comes with a cigarette-lighter power cable and builds the controls, speaker and mic into one handset. Radioddity lists 18 W on the main channels (the title says 20 W). The grant shows 19.54 W conducted on the 467 MHz repeater inputs and 4.97 W on the 462 MHz interstitials (2AN62-DB20G). The mirrored grant has no separate 462 MHz main-channel row; we’ve flagged that on the spec page. It has an SO-239 port, CHIRP support and costs $109.99. Radioddity lists no IP rating.

Where to buy · Radioddity DB20-G: $109.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.

Hidden install, antenna in the box: Radioddity UB15-G

Why: the LCD, keypad and controls are on the microphone, so the radio body can go under a seat (Radioddity), and it ships with a magnet-mount antenna (19.7 ft cable) and a 12 V plug-in power cable. Filed at 16.97 W ERP (462 main) and 16.76 W (467 main) on 2AN62-UB15G, granted May 2026, with a 70 cm antenna distance. 80 channels, 10 NOAA channels, $129.99. Radioddity lists no IP rating.

Where to buy · Radioddity UB15-G: $129.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.

Antenna in the box: Midland MXT275

Why: it ships with a 2.1 dB magnet-mount antenna and has an SO-239 jack, so it’s on the air with no extra purchase. The MXT575 also includes one, at more than twice the price. It’s 15.0 W conducted, has 8 split-tone repeater channels and costs $199.99. Midland’s manual says “It is not waterproof.” For whether an older MXT is still a good starter, see this r/gmrs thread.

Where to buy · Midland MXT275 MicroMobile: $199.99 maker list price (checked 2026-10-21). No retailer link yet.

Also documented

  • Midland MXT575: 48.87 W conducted, the highest filed power here, with a magnet-mount antenna included. No weather rating found. $439.99.
  • Radioddity DB40-G: $179.99 and 40 W (Radioddity: “max 48W”), 199 channels and CHIRP. The grant shows 48.64 W ERP on the 467 MHz repeater inputs, but its two 462 MHz rows look transposed (about 4.6 W on the main channels and 48.5 W on the interstitials, where the limit is 5 W). Until that’s resolved, we don’t rank it. Its grant sets a 114 cm antenna distance, and Radioddity lists no weather rating or NOAA feature.
  • Midland MXT400: discontinued. 40 W conducted, no NOAA weather (Midland). Replaced by the MXT500.
  • BTECH GMRS-50X1: BTECH lists it as a legacy model and out of stock. The GMRS-50V2 is its current 50 W mobile.

All twelve side by side

RadioFCC-filed power, 462 MHz mainMaker powerWater ratingBattery / powerChargingAntennaList price
Midland MXT275 MicroMobile
FCC MMAMXT275
15 W conducted FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2115 W Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21None – manual: “It is not waterproof.” Midland MXT275 full user guide (Midland support site)checked 2026-10-21n/a – 13.8 VDC nominal vehicle power Midland MXT275 full user guide (Midland support site)checked 2026-10-21n/a (12 V power cord); USB-C port for charging other devices Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21SO-239 jack; 2.1 dB magnetic-mount antenna (MXTA13) included Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21$199.99 (maker site) Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Midland MXT575 MicroMobile
FCC MMAMXT575
48.87 W conducted FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W (“Full 50W Radio”) Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a – 13.8 VDC nominal vehicle power (user guide) Midland MXT575 full user guide (Midland support site)checked 2026-10-21n/a (12 V power); USB-C port for charging other devices – QC 3.0/2.0 up to 36 W, PD 12 V/9 V/5 V at 3 A Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-212.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount and cable included; radio-side connector type not stated on the product page Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21$439.99 (maker site) Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Midland MXT500 MicroMobile
FCC MMAMXT500
47.863 W conducted FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W (“Full 50-Watt”) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21IP66 Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a (vehicle power); USB-C port for charging and data Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-212.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount (listed on a bundle option of the maker page); radio-side connector type not stated Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21$439.99 (maker site) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
BTECH GMRS-50X1
FCC 2AGND50X1G
42.56 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W high / 20 W mid / 5 W low; channels 1–7 limited to 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiednot yet verifiednot yet verifiedNo antenna included – “requires an external antenna”; BTECH suggests an NMO-mount antenna (Nagoya NMO-200C). Radio-side connector type not stated on the product page. sourcechecked 2026-10-21$179.89 (maker site, shown reduced from $219.89; listed as legacy model and out of stock) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check Stock at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link
Wouxun KG-1000G Plus
FCC WVTWOUXUN20
43.152 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W / 25 W / 10 W / 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a – 13.8 V DC ±15% sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiednot yet verifiednot yet verified
Radioddity DB20-G
FCC 2AN62-DB20G
not in grant5 W on 462.5625–462.7125 MHz; 18 W on 462.550–467.725 MHz (listing title says 20W) sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a – 13.8 V DC ±15%; ships with a cigarette-lighter power cable sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedNo antenna included. SO-239 port (needs a PL-259 antenna cable) sourcechecked 2026-10-21$109.99 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21
BTECH GMRS-50V2
FCC 2AGND50V2G
44.87 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2150 W / 20 W / 5 W selectable sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP54 ("weather-resistant / splash resistant") sourcechecked 2026-10-21n/a – 13.8 V DC ±15%, 20 A peak; BTECH says to wire it to the battery or a fuse block, "not a cigarette outlet" sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedNo antenna included; SO-239 antenna jack. RJ45 mic jack with an RJ45-to-K1 adapter included sourcechecked 2026-10-21$219.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link
BTECH GMRS-20V2
FCC 2AGND20V2G
18.41 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2120 W / 5 W selectable sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP67 ("fully submersible") sourcechecked 2026-10-21n/a – 13.8 V DC ±15%, 20 A peak; 12 V cigarette-plug power cable included sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedNo antenna included; SO-239 antenna jack sourcechecked 2026-10-21$109.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link
BTECH GMRS-50PRO
FCC 2AGND-GMRS-50PRO
35.4 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-215 W / 25 W / 50 W selectable; channels 1–7 limited to 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP54 ("not submersible") sourcechecked 2026-10-21n/a – 13.8 V DC; fused power lead included sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedNo antenna included (BTECH: "Add a tuned GMRS antenna"); use a 50-ohm GMRS-tuned antenna sourcechecked 2026-10-21$284.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check Price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link
Radioddity UB15-G
FCC 2AN62-UB15G
16.97 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21High 15 W / Low 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a – 13.8 V DC; ships with a power cable with car charger (12 V vehicle power adapter) sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedMagnetic-mount GMRS antenna with 19.7 ft cable included ("Portable Antenna Base with Cable"); radio-side connector not stated on the product page sourcechecked 2026-10-21$129.99 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Radioddity DB40-G
FCC 2AN62-DB40G
4.6238 W ERP FCC grantchecked 2026-10-21"40 watts (max 48W)"; HI ≥40 W, M ≈20 W, LO ≈5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a – 13.8 V ±15%; dissipation current ≤10 A; power cable with fuse tube included sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedNo antenna listed in the box; connector type not stated sourcechecked 2026-10-21$179.99 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Midland MXT400 MicroMobile (discontinued)
FCC MMAMXT400
40 W conducted FCC grantchecked 2026-10-2140 W (Midland blog) sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedn/a – vehicle power; Midland: 10 A max transmit (high), 15 A fuse, 14 AWG up to 10 ft sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verifiedDetachable external magnetic-mount antenna (Midland blog); Midland FAQ: all MXT radios use a PL259 connector sourcechecked 2026-10-21n/a – discontinued (Midland FAQ) sourcechecked 2026-10-21

Install checklist from the documents

  1. Power: wire 50 W radios to the battery or a fused block (BTECH: 20 A peak for the GMRS-50V2). Plug-in cords suit the 15–20 W class (GMRS-20V2, DB20-G, UB15-G).
  2. Antenna: put it on the roof, away from people. The grants set minimum distances: 40 cm (MXT575, KG-1000G Plus, GMRS-50PRO), 49 cm (GMRS-20V2), 60 cm (MXT400), 70 cm (UB15-G), 71.4 cm (DB20-G), 80 cm (GMRS-50V2), 86 cm (MXT275), 104.7 cm (GMRS-50X1), 114 cm (DB40-G), 151.8 cm (MXT500).
  3. Gain: higher-gain vehicle antennas trade vertical coverage for horizontal; r/gmrs debates the trade-off for city and forest driving in 3 dB vs 6 dB vehicle antenna. Mind any gain cap on the grant: 1.0 dBi for the GMRS-50PRO, 2.1 dBi for the MXT575 and 2.15 dBi for the MXT275 (RF-exposure conditions), and 4.14 dBi for the KG-1000G Plus, all including cable loss where the grant says so.
  4. Repeaters: load the input tone on the 467 MHz side (privacy codes and repeater tones), and ID with your call sign.
  5. Antenna and mount: see GMRS vehicle antennas and mounts for magnet, NMO and lip mounts.
  6. Range: see GMRS range for what antenna height buys.

Related: best GMRS handheld radios · repeaters and mobile setup · MXT575 vs MXT500 · how to choose a GMRS radio

Common questions

Is 50 W worth it over 15 or 20 W in a vehicle?

Going from 15 W to 50 W is about 5.2 dB. In free space that’s roughly 1.8× the distance, and on the ground terrain and antenna height usually set the limit first. The bigger step is from an HT inside the cab to any mobile with an antenna on the roof. See GMRS range.

Can I plug a 50 W GMRS radio into the cigarette lighter?

BTECH says no for the GMRS-50V2: connect it “directly to a proper 13.8V battery or fuse block setup (not a cigarette outlet).” Its page lists a 20 A peak draw. The 20 W BTECH GMRS-20V2 and Radioddity DB20-G and the 15 W UB15-G all ship with a cigarette-lighter power cable.

Do I need a license for a GMRS mobile radio?

Yes. Transmitting on GMRS needs an FCC license ($35, 10 years, no exam; it covers your immediate family). See how to get a GMRS license.

Which antenna mount should I use?

The Midland MXT275, MXT575 and Radioddity UB15-G include a magnet-mount antenna, and Midland offers one in an MXT500 bundle. The BTECH GMRS-50V2, GMRS-20V2 and GMRS-50PRO and the Radioddity DB20-G list none. Magnet mounts are the no-drill option; NMO mounts need a hole or a lip mount but stay put. See GMRS vehicle antennas and mounts.