GMRS setup guides UV-5R vs UV-5G vs GMRS-V2
UV-5R vs UV-5G vs GMRS-V2 Is a Baofeng legal on GMRS?
Only the GMRS models are legal on GMRS. The UV-5R is a ham radio, and a radio that can transmit on ham bands can't be certified for GMRS (§95.1761(c)). Baofeng's UV-5G and UV-5G Plus and BTECH's GMRS-V2 all hold GMRS grants and are filed at about 4.1–4.6 W ERP. The GMRS-V2 adds an IP54 rating for $44.89; the UV-5G Plus has the biggest battery for $32.99.
Affiliate disclosure: if you buy through some links on this page, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you (currently BTECH only). Commissions never change our data, our picks or the order we list radios in. How we make money
Sources: rule text from 47 CFR Part 95 via eCFR (checked 2026-10-21); FCC grants via fccid.io; Baofeng and BTECH product pages, all checked 2026-10-21. This compares documents, not radios on the bench. Not legal advice.
The short answer
- UV-5R: not legal on GMRS. It’s a ham radio (Baofeng sells its GMRS models as compatible with “all accessories of UV-5R ham radio series”). The rule is blunt: “No GMRS transmitter will be certified for use in the GMRS if it is equipped with the capabilities to operate in services that do not require equipment certification, such as the Amateur Radio Service” (§95.1761(c)).
- UV-5G and UV-5G Plus: legal. Both hold Part 95E (GMRS) grants.
- BTECH GMRS-V2: legal. It holds a Part 95E grant and is BTECH’s budget GMRS HT.
r/gmrs puts it more bluntly: No one cares if you use a ham radio, but please program it right. Members still debate it (UV-5R vs AR-5RM, the subreddit’s own non-Part 95 radio rule discussion). The rules don’t make an exception for a well-programmed ham radio.
Side by side from the filings
| Baofeng UV-5R | Baofeng UV-5G (UV-5X) | Baofeng UV-5G Plus | BTECH GMRS-V2 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GMRS (Part 95E) grant | None, and it can’t get one (§95.1761(c)) | 2AN62-UV5G | 2AJGM-5GPLUS | 2AGND-GMRS-V2 |
| Filed power, 462 MHz main | n/a | 4.1 W ERP | 4.159 W ERP | 4.6 W ERP |
| Filed power, 467 MHz main (repeater input) | n/a | 3.96 W ERP | 3.802 W ERP | 4.59 W ERP |
| Maker power claim | n/a | “≤5W (GMRS)” | “≤8W (GMRS)” | 5 W high / 0.5 W low |
| Repeater capable | n/a | Yes (Baofeng) | Not stated | Yes (BTECH) |
| Water rating | n/a | Not stated | Not stated | IP54 |
| Battery | n/a | 1800 mAh | 2500 mAh | BL-8, capacity not stated |
| Antenna | n/a | Not stated | SMA-Female, removable | SMA-Female (BTECH’s wording), removable |
| USB-C charging | n/a | Not stated | Yes | Yes (“all USB-C cables”) |
| Channels | n/a | 30 GMRS + 11 NOAA + 128 scanner | 999 (1–30 GMRS) | 200; CHIRP programmable |
| Maker list price (2026-10-21) | n/a | $43.99 | $32.99 | $44.89 |
Spec-page sources: Baofeng UV-5G page, Baofeng UV-5G Plus page, BTECH GMRS-V2 page.
Which one to get
- Lowest price with a GMRS grant: the UV-5G Plus at $32.99, with a 2500 mAh battery and USB-C. Ignore the “8W” headline; the grant shows about 4.2 W ERP.
- A weather rating: the GMRS-V2 at $44.89. It has the highest filed power of the three (4.6 W ERP) and an IP54 rating, and BTECH’s page says it charges from “all USB-C cables.”
- You already own UV-5R accessories: the UV-5G. Baofeng says it takes UV-5R-series accessories, including a 3800 mAh battery.
- Even cheaper: the Radioddity GM-30 is $24.99 and filed at 4.91 W ERP. Baofeng’s $25.99 GM-15 Pro is also GMRS-certified, but its grant shows only 1.109 W ERP. See best GMRS handheld radios.
Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-V2
$44.89 maker list price at BTECH
We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money
The UV-5G has two FCC IDs on record
Baofeng’s UV-5G page names 2AN62-UV5G, a 2021 grant held by SAIN3 LLC that lists 4.1 W ERP. There’s also a Baofeng grant, 2AJGM-UV5G (2022, with receive bands added in 2024), that lists 3.23–3.93 W ERP. Both are Part 95E grants, so either label is certified for GMRS. The label on your radio tells you which filing it is.
How to check any Baofeng in five minutes
- Find the FCC ID on the label under the battery.
- Look it up on fccid.io or the FCC’s search.
- Look for 95E rows covering 462 and 467 MHz. No 95E rows means it isn’t a GMRS radio.
- Full walkthrough: is my Baofeng legal on GMRS?
Related: best GMRS handheld radios · BTECH GMRS-V2 vs GMRS-PRO · GMRS vs FRS, MURS, CB and ham · program with CHIRP · handheld antenna upgrades
Common questions
Can I use my UV-5R on GMRS if I set it to low power?
No. Power isn’t what makes a radio legal on GMRS; certification is. The UV-5R can transmit on ham bands, so it can’t hold a GMRS grant (§95.1761(c)), and GMRS stations must use certified transmitters (§95.335). Low power doesn’t turn it into an FRS radio either. See GMRS vs FRS, MURS, CB and ham.
What's the difference between the UV-5G and the UV-5X?
According to Baofeng, it’s the same radio under a new name. Its UV-5G page says it renamed the GMRS UV-5X to UV-5G “and re-certified the FCC ID as 2AN62-UV5G.”
Is the 8 W UV-5G Plus more powerful than the GMRS-V2?
Not on paper. The UV-5G Plus grant (2AJGM-5GPLUS) lists 4.159 W ERP on the 462 MHz main channels; the GMRS-V2 grant lists 4.6 W ERP. We found no filing for the UV-5G Plus that covers 8 W.
I have a ham license. Can I use my UV-5R on GMRS then?
No. A ham license covers amateur bands under Part 97. GMRS frequencies still require a GMRS-certified radio (§95.335 and §95.1761).